Skip to content
It’s San DiegoSearch The Guide

Home › Miramar Reservoir

Miramar Reservoir

Part of Lakes and Lake Guides, our guide to San Diego County lakes, reservoirs and the rules for fishing them.

Miramar Reservoir is a City of San Diego reservoir open daily sunrise to sunset for fishing and private boats. Fishing is $10 for adults 16 to 65, cash or check. On October 23, 2026 the City posted an algae bloom notice and a boat ramp closure from about October 27 to November 17.Checked October 23, 2026.

$10adult fishing, 16 to 65
$5youth 8 to 15
Free7 and under
Algaenotice posted Oct 23, 2026
Address10710 Scripps Lake Drive, San Diego, CA 92131
Phone and email619-668-2050; lakes@sandiego.gov (as published by the City)
HoursOpen daily, sunrise to sunset. Closed the first Tuesday of each month. Open Memorial Day, Independence Day and Labor Day; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day.
Fishing feesAdults 16 to 65 $10; youth 8 to 15 $5; seniors 65+ $7; children 7 and under free. Cash or check only.
Boating fee$10 per boat or craft, including kayaks and canoes; an alternate rate of $7 per craft (who qualifies is not stated)
AllowedBoats, canoes, kayaks, float tubes; leashed dogs on land (not on boats)
Not allowedStand-up paddleboards, swimming, wading, camping, ground fires, glass, fish-cleaning stations

Safety Notices, Read 2026-10-23

The City page said the boat launch ramp would be unavailable from about October 27 to November 17 because of San Diego County Water Authority pipeline maintenance. The same page said the City identified an algae bloom that can produce cyanotoxins and asked the public to avoid touching the water and keep pets out of it. The City says treated drinking water is not affected. These are dated notices, not permanent. Read the City reservoir page before you go.

Fishing at Miramar

The City lists largemouth bass, sunfish, catfish, crappie, trout and carp. A California fishing license is required for ages 16 and up, and State and City rules are enforced. Permits are paid on site. See California Fishing License and Limits.

What We Could Not Verify

  • What qualifies for the $7 alternate boat rate is not stated on the City page; the City can confirm.
  • The stocking schedule is not stated. An older City brochure reportedly gives a 12 inch bass size limit, but we did not read it, so treat the bass limit as unconfirmed.
  • Another City page address showed older fee figures; we used the live page read on October 23, 2026. The City can confirm the current fees.
  • The algae notice and ramp closure are dated October 23, 2026 and may have changed since.

More in Lakes and Lake Guides

FAQ

Is Miramar Reservoir open for boats now?

The City said the ramp would be unavailable from about October 27 to November 17, 2026. Check the City page for the current status.

How do I pay?

Cash or check only, on site.

Can I swim?

No. Swimming and wading are not allowed.

Sources

  1. City of San Diego: Miramar Reservoir
  2. CDFW: fishing licenses

Checked October 23, 2026 by It’s San Diego. Cite this page: It’s San Diego (itssandiego.com), checked October 23, 2026. Free to quote with a link to this page; tables are licensed CC BY 4.0.